Board Meeting Highlights

South Orange County Community College District

January 22, 2008



A resolution was presented to Steven Teh, Saddleback College Full-time Professor of the Year. Susan Robertson, not in attendance, also received a resolution as SC Part-time Professor of the Year. Congratulations Steve and Susan!


South Orange County Community College District


A resolution was presented to Richard Zucker Irvine Valley College Full-time Professor of the Year. Rick Schank, not in attendance, also received a resolution as IVC Part-time Professor of the Year. Congratulations Richard and Rick!

South Orange County Community College District
A resolution was presented to Donna Hanna Chase, IVC Emeritus Professor of the Year. Congratulations, Donna!   South Orange County Community College District
  • President Donald P. Wagner thanked Vice President Williams for attending on his behalf the Orange County Community Colleges Legislative Task Force (OCLTF) meeting, a meeting with the City of Tustin, and the Chancellor's Opening Session.


  • Vice President John S. Williams thanked President Roquemore for the wonderful venue of the Performing Arts Center for the Chancellor's Opening Session, Trustee Fuentes who served as master of ceremonies, and the Faculty Association for the luncheon that day. He is looking forward to attending the Futures Assembly next week with Chancellor Mathur, and announced that the Chancellor was appointed Chair of the CEO Commission for the conference and an awards judge.


  • Clerk of the Board Thomas A. Fuentes reported on the OCLTF meeting. There was discussion of possible legislative strategies related to the 50% law which is affecting all four Orange County districts. There was consensus to discuss further action after the System Office issues results and recommendations of a state-wide survey on the impacts of the law. The state fiscal crisis was also discussed and how upcoming legislator visits should focus on reducing regulations versus seeking any increase in funding. Chancellor Mathur represented our district at a reception for Orange County resident Bobby McDonald who is a new member of the California Community Colleges Board of Governors.


  • Trustee William O. Jay thanked all those who put so much preparation into the wonderful and flawless in-service activities at the colleges.


  • Trustee Marcia Milchiker recognized the professors of the year, who represent some of our finest faculty members.


  • Trustee Nancy M. Padberg attended in-service events at SC, IVC and ATEP as well as many community events.


  • Student Trustee Matthew T. Reynard said that he was glad to be back at school after a good holiday break and was waiting for university acceptance notifications.


  • Chancellor Raghu P. Mathur reported on the Governor's budget in which a $40 million cut is proposed for 2007-08. For 2008-09, the Governor has proposed an approximate 10% reduction in community college budgets with a 0% COLA and growth of only 1%. This would mean a $9 million cut to our district. If Proposition 92 passes, it will have some financial implications into the allocations for next year. Our district continues to grow in enrollment. The state budget picture remains uncertain and more changes are ahead with the May revise and final adoption by the legislature.


  • SC President Richard McCullough's written report included mention of: 22 student leaders participated in the Associated Student Government spring retreat; job search, resume and interview workshops in the Center for Career and Life Development; International Guest Artist Series; and fine arts performances. He thanked Trustee Padberg for her work and support toward the Veterans Memorial.


  • IVC President Glenn Roquemore's written report included mention of: auditions for the April production of Fiorello; daytime offering of Electronics 101; presentation of a plaque honoring IVC alumni and Irvine City Manager Sean Joyce; article about the new Performing Arts Center in OC Metro magazine; and activities during the holidays which supported Adopt-a-Family and Angel Toy Tree drive benefiting children of the Orange County fires.


  • ATEP Provost Robert J. Kopecky's written report included mention of: new program development; student services and instruction update; outreach, marketing and public relations update; and continuing progress of negotiations with Camelot Entertainment.




South Orange County Community College District
  • all consent calendar items, academic personnel actions, and classified personnel actions except for tabling consideration of membership in the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges in Item 5.14. If you wish to know specifics, please contact the Office of the President or Deputy Chancellor.


  • 17 faculty members for sabbatical leave during the 2008-09 academic year.


  • 2008-09 non-resident tuition fees for foreign and out-of-state students of $181 per semester unit, capital outlay fee of $25 per semester unit and application fee of $52.


  • acceptance for review and study the district's initial proposal to CSEA Chapter 586. A public hearing was held to provide an opportunity for comment.


  • acceptance for review and study the submittal of a short range plan to the City of Tustin for the ATEP campus.


  • appointing Vice President Williams as the political action representative to the Orange County School Boards Association.


  • the concept of the Veteran's Memorial to be constructed at Saddleback College. The timeline is to have a groundbreaking ceremony in Spring 2008 and the structure in place by the end of Summer 2008.


  • President McCullough, President Roquemore and Provost Kopecky presented updates on educational and facilities master plans. Click here for the presentation.


The Board meeting will be broadcast on Friday, January 25 and Saturday, January 26 at 7pm, on Saddleback College Channel 39 and Irvine Valley College Channel 33. SC TV39 has an additional broadcast on Sunday, January 27 at 7pm. The meeting will also be available for viewing online next week.

South Orange County Community College District Board of Trustees

Thomas A. Fuentes, William O. Jay, David B. Lang, Marcia Milchiker, Nancy M. Padberg,

Donald P. Wagner, John S. Williams, Matthew T. Reynard, Student Trustee

Raghu P. Mathur, Ed.D., Chancellor

Board Meeting Update Prepared by:
Tracy Daly, District Director
Public Affairs and Intergovernmental Relations