Board Meeting Highlights

South Orange County Community College District

July 26, 2010


Saddleback College Veterans Memorial

Board Vice President Nancy M. Padberg and Trustee David B. Lang presented to President Tod Burnett the recognition they received on behalf of the Veterans Memorial from Congressman Gary Miller and the City of Mission Viejo.  

South Orange County Community College District





South Orange County Community College District
  • all consent calendar items (memberships in the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges listed in Item 5.12 were tabled). 
  • academic and classified personnel actions (Item 6.5, B.1 was tabled). If you wish to know specifics, please contact the Office of the President or Vice Chancellor, Human Resources.
  • appointment of Dr. David Bugay as acting Vice Chancellor of Business Services.
  • accepting a $225,000 award to SC from the California Community College Chancellor's Office for the Teacher Preparation Pipeline grant.
  • revised mission statement for the Advanced Technology & Education Park as: To offer applied education and training programs in current and emerging technological careers driven by innovative business, industry, and education partnerships. 
  • awarding of IVC Honorary Associate Degrees to Dale Gleason, Bernard Osher and Mary Earl Spencer.


  • agreement with Liebert Cassidy Whitmore establishing a change in rates for professional legal services. 
  • acceptance of the District's proposal to the SOCCCD Police Officers Association for review and study, and set a public hearing on the proposal for the August 2010 Board meeting. 
  • Trustees welcomed Acting Chancellor Dixie Bullock.  She thanked them for their unanimous support of her appointment and said she looks forward to working with our outstanding faculty, administrators, staff and students.  Trustee Marcia Milchiker highlighted the SC Medical Assisting Program. 
  • SC President Tod Burnett's written report included mention of: the new Vice President for Student Services, Dr. Juan Avalos; summer vocal and jazz standard students of Joey Sellers performing free noon concerts in July; Passport to the Arts series for children and College for Kids; the naming of student and Army veteran Ann Reeder as AMVET of the Year for her work with SC veterans; the first Governance and Organizational Manual since 1996; online marketing efforts including Facebook; and brochures to promote fall classes. 
  • IVC President Glenn Roquemore's written report included mention of: the IVC Debate Team spending two weeks in China on a debate tour; Applied Music Instructor Steven Liu's selection as a 2010 Abreu Fellow for the El Sistema USA Program in Boston and Caracas; a barbeque to recognize volunteers of the successful 25th anniversary dinner and the college's independence from Saddleback College 25 years ago; and award of a Basic Skills Initiative grant to Professor John Licitra.    
  • ATEP Provost Randy Peebles' written report included mention of: receipt of final approval from the U.S. Department of Navy for demolition of former Marine base buildings; partnership with Haas Automation, Inc. to establish a training center for manufacturing technologies; kick-off event for the new Environmental Design and Compliance Center; and RapidTech hosting an event with Vital Link to promote 3D careers. Provost Peebles shared the good news that the City of Tustin just approved the concept plan 3A for campus expansion. 

The Board meeting will be available for viewing online later in the week.   Television broadcast is scheduled for 7pm on both Friday, July 30 and Saturday, July 31, on Saddleback College Channel 39 and Irvine Valley College Channel 33.  SC TV39 has an additional broadcast on Sunday, August 1 at 7pm.

South Orange County Community College District Board of Trustees

Thomas A. Fuentes, William O. Jay, David B. Lang, Marcia Milchiker, Nancy M. Padberg,

Donald P. Wagner, John S. Williams; Eve Shieh, Student Trustee

Dixie Bullock, Acting Chancellor

Board Meeting Update Prepared by:
Tracy Daly, District Director of Public Affairs