South Orange County Community College District

Board Meeting Highlights

July 24, 2006



Professor Claire Cesareo-Silva received a Board resolution in recognition of her service as President of the Saddleback College Academic Senate for



South Orange County Community College District


  • Board President David B. Lang thanked Trustee Fuentes for the arrangements he made for the reception for Scott Lay, the new President and CEO of the Community College League of California.
  • Vice President Nancy M. Padberg recognized that along with SC winning the national surfing championship, San Clemente High School also recently won a surfing championship. She acknowledged the good idea of the surfing theme of last summer's recruitment campaign designed by Tracy Daly and the marketing committee. She mentioned that Dixie Bullock was now appearing in the SCLO production of Footloose.
  • Clerk of the Board Thomas A. Fuentes was pleased to represent the Colleges, along with Chancellor Mathur , in the City of Lake Forest 4 th of July parade. They received enthusiastic response from those watching the parade, particularly alumni.
  • Trustee William O. Jay congratulated SC for winning the national surfing championship. He recently attended a terrific SCLO production of Footloose.
  • Trustee Marcia Milchiker attended a meeting in Riverside that dealt with raising funds to improve community colleges, the reception for Scott Lay, the marvelous SCLO production of Footloose, and a special retrospective in the SC Art Gallery.
  • Trustee Donald P. Wagner was unable to attend the Board meeting last month as he was with his son who was competing in the Junior Olympics in Florida.
  • Trustee John S. Williams encouraged fellow trustees to attend the Chancellor's Opening Session and faculty luncheon on Tuesday, August 15.
  • Student Trustee Elizabeth Kelly attended the Scott Lay reception during which she met State Chancellor Mark Drummond and other Orange County chancellors. She also attended the regional chamber installation banquet, an enrollment mapping workshop and is looking forward to traveling to Santa Clara to participate in the state student trustee conference.
  • Chancellor Raghu P. Mathur congratulated Elizabeth Kelly on her receipt of a $1,000 Coca-Cola scholarship. He congratulated Dr. Allan MacDougall who was just notified of his selection to receive the 2006 Technology Leadership Award, sponsored by the State Chancellor's Office and the Foundation for California Community Colleges.  He also thanked Dr. MacDougall for his tremendous contributions over the past several months as Interim Vice Chancellor of Technology and Learning Services.
  • SC President Richard McCullough 's written report included mention of: Surf Team won the national championship competing against community colleges and four year universities; completion of an interim strategic plan for 2006-07; 30 international students attended a new comprehensive orientation; increase in fall applications; fine arts performances; and 27 students graduated with Medical Assistant certificates.
  • IVC President Glenn Roquemore 's written report included mention of: photography professor Jerry McGrath 's sabbatical to Southeast Asia; Sports Information Department named Tom Pestolesi as both the men's and women's sport coach of the year, and baseball player Jeff Kaplan and badminton player Eva Lee as athletes of the year; Emeritus Institute's first summer schedule of classes; and the Foundation held its annual planning retreat.
  • ATEP Provost Robert J. Kopecky 's written report included mention of: CACT is offering its second class for Raytheon technicians; working with businesses on proposal development; development of a process to evaluate partnership proposals; and support of the August 20 CHOCRIDE fundraising event for the Children's Hospital of Orange County.
  • Addressing the Board were: Wendy Gabriella , IVC Academic Senate; Bob Cosgove , SC Academic Senate; Bill Hewitt, Faculty Association; and Cloyce Kelly , POA.





    South Orange County Community College District

  • all consent calendar items, academic personnel actions, and classified personnel actions. If you wish to know specifics, please contact the Office of the President or Deputy Chancellor.
  • IVC fall 2006 Community Education courses, instructors and compensation.


  • two year agreement for SC cosmetology, manicuring, and cosmetician instruction with Lake Forest Beauty College and James Albert School of Cosmetology. For the past 28 years, local beauty colleges have provided instruction in the SC programs.


  • agreement with Carrier Johnson Architects to provide architectural services for two life sciences labs and a classroom building in B-200 and the remodel of room B-239 for a chemistry lab at IVC, fee estimated at $302,177.


  • 06-07 District mission statement as: The mission of the South Orange County Community College District is to facilitate diverse opportunities for learning, cultural enrichment and social experiences to foster student success and contribute to our dynamic community.


  • Board policy related to employment procedures for chancellor.


  • agreement with Atkinson, Andelson, Loya, Ruud & Romo through June 30, 2007 for legal services pertaining to labor relations, labor negotiations, and other community college legal matters.


  • institutional memberships submitted by the Colleges and District Services.


  • Correspondence in the Board agenda packet included letters and notes extending appreciation, commendation and compliments to the following, from IVC: Eva Garnet and Anne Akers; and from District Services: Payroll for accomplishing an “immaculately perfect” retro pay adjustment for classified staff.



  • The Board meeting will be broadcast on Friday, July 28, and Saturday, July 29 at 7pm, on Saddleback College Channel 39 and Irvine Valley College Channel 33. SC TV39 has an additional broadcast on Sunday, July 30 at 7pm.

South Orange County Community College District Board of Trustees

Thomas A. Fuentes, William O. Jay, David B. Lang, Marcia Milchiker, Nancy M. Padberg,

Donald P. Wagner, John S. Williams, Elizabeth Kelly, Student Trustee

Raghu P. Mathur, Ed.D., Chancellor

Board Meeting Update Prepared by:
Tracy Daly, District Director
Marketing and Public Affairs