South Orange County Community College District

Board Meeting Highlights

September 25, 2006


Resolutions were presented to Dr. Norman Weston, SC Full-time Professor of the Year; Dr. Peter Morrison, IVC Full-time Professor of the Year; Dr. Barbara Cox , SC Part-time Professor of the Year; James Granitto, IVC Part-time Professor of the Year; and Eva Garnett, IVC Emeritus Professor of the Year.


South Orange County Community College District


District Services Payroll Department was presented with a Resolution in recognition of a special commendation from the OC Department of Education for no coding errors on the large-scale retroactive pay adjustment for classified employees.

    South Orange County Community College District


  • Board President David B. Lang acknowledged the religious holidays of Ramadan, Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kipper. He expressed a wish that all people can find a way to come together in the coming year.


  • Vice President Nancy M. Padberg attended the 9-11 commemoration ceremonies at both Colleges. She mentioned that the SC Gauchos football team was currently ranked first in southern California . She thanked SC Vice President of Student Services Lise Telson for hosting a fundraiser for the EOPS program, as well as the planning committee and the individuals and businesses who contributed to the event which raised $6,000.


  • Clerk of the Board Thomas A. Fuentes thanked both College Presidents for the magnificent 9-11 commemoration ceremonies this month.


  • Trustee Marcia Milchiker expressed that the professors of the year were representative of what makes the colleges so excellent. She also acknowledged the excellence of the District Services Payroll Department. She joined Trustee Padberg in thanking those who contributed to the SC fundraiser for EOPS students. She attended SC Club Day.


  • Student Trustee Elizabeth Kelly gave an update on her activities over the past month which included an introduction of the Chancellor at the Chancellor's Opening Session; speaking at the IVC 9-11 commemoration ceremony; initiating a UC personal statement writing workshop; and promoting a Phi Theta Kappa seminar series.


  • Chancellor Raghu P. Mathur extended congratulations to the Professors of the Year and the Payroll Department for the excellent job they do. He also congratulated College Presidents McCullough and Roquemore for memorable 9-11 ceremonies and Provost Kopecky for organizing an excellent workshop on ATTEP. He reported a smooth opening of fall semester.


  • SC President Richard McCullough 's written report included mention of: fifth anniversary ceremony of September 11, 2001; advertisement in U.S. News and World Report's “America's Best Colleges” issue; events and activities in Student Services; F ine Arts fall performances; and an update from the Division of Health Sciences, Human Services and Emeritus Institute including mention of a 100% pass rate by Nursing Program students on the NCLEX exam last quarter.


  • IVC President Glenn Roquemore 's written report included mention of: an estimated 550 people attended the Welcome Day event; installation of 270 solar panels on the Hart Gymnasium roof; student Selena Tan was recently named a Phi Theta Kappa “Leader of Promise”, one of only 30 students in the international organization to be selected; and Professor Gary Rybold is the author of a recently published debate textbook.


  • ATEP Provost Robert J. Kopecky 's written report included mention of: designation of the Center for Applied Competitive Technologies (CACT) as one of eight National Science Foundation Centers of Excellence; development of a process and criteria to evaluate partnership proposals; assisting the Children's Hospital of Orange County with the CHOCRIDE fundraising event; and the initiation an e-newsletter sent to all District employees.


  • Addressing the Board were: Wendy Gabriella , IVC Academic Senate; Bob Cosgove, SC Academic Senate; Lewis Long, Faculty Association; Carol Spencer, CSEA; Rockwell Bower, Inter-Club President at IVC; and Rebecca Cunningham , SC Associated Student Government.







    South Orange County Community College District

  • all consent calendar items, academic personnel actions, and classified personnel actions, except for the tabling of Item 23, ASIVC activity sticker fee increase. If you wish to know specifics, please contact the Office of the President or Deputy Chancellor.


  • awards of bids and agreements totaling $14,933,940 for the IVC Business and Technology Innovation Center for aspects of construction including plumbing, landscaping, masonry, roofing, sheet metal, millwork, floor coverings, painting, concrete, and electrical systems.


  • SC Spring 2007 Community Education program and presenters.


  • expenditures for SC Spring 2007 Theatre Arts musical production of Thoroughly Modern Millie .


  • adoption of the final budget for FY 2006-2007 in the total amount of: $373,744,274. Chancellor Mathur discussed the implications of SB361 and how future budgets will depend upon student enrollment. Deputy Chancellor Gary Poertner recognized the hard work of Beth Muller, Carol Hilton, Davit Khachatryan , and the District Resource Allocation Committee (DRAC). DRAC made the recommendation for SC to contribute a portion ($230,000) of their ending balance to IVC in order to balance their FY2006-2007 budget. There was a past precedent in which IVC had contributed to SC. He thanked President McCullough for following through with the DRAC recommendation.


  • $1,981,000 from basic aid to fund the remodel of the A-300 building project at IVC and $1,942,000 from basic aid to fund the new restrooms for the SC McKinney Theater.


  • the budget for the Associated Students of IVC which will allocate funds of $400,446.




  • ATEP and progress made for a Fall 2007 launch of offering classes, the request for partnership proposal process, alternative sources of funds for ATEP, and next steps in the development of the new campus.


  • future board meeting discussion topics.


  • research and planning functions within the District and the Colleges.


  • enrollment management status and future prospects at IVC and SC.


  • outreach and marketing activities and results at IVC and SC.


  • programs to save students money on books at IVC and SC.


  • final accreditation progress reports. Chancellor Mathur recognized Professor Ana Maria Cobos and Vice President Rajen Vurdien at SC and Professor Wendy Gabriella and Vice President Dennis White at IVC for their diligent work on the reports.


  • Correspondence in the Board agenda packet included letters and notes extending appreciation, commendation and compliments to the following, from SC: Gaucho football team and coaching staff; from IVC: student Kathleen Settels; Phi Theta Kappa advisors Kurt Meyer, David Fretz, and Jodi Titus; student Erit Maor; psychology instructor Dr. Kari Tucker; and IVC facilities and maintenance staff; from District Services: Dr. Andreea Serban.


  • The Board meeting will be broadcast on Friday, September 29 and Saturday, September 30 at 7pm, on Saddleback College Channel 39 and Irvine Valley College Channel 33. SC TV39 has an additional broadcast on Sunday, October 1 at 7pm.

South Orange County Community College District Board of Trustees

Thomas A. Fuentes, William O. Jay, David B. Lang, Marcia Milchiker, Nancy M. Padberg,

Donald P. Wagner, John S. Williams, Elizabeth Kelly, Student Trustee

Raghu P. Mathur, Ed.D., Chancellor

Board Meeting Update Prepared by:
Tracy Daly, District Director
Marketing and Public Affairs