February 24, 2025

Board of Trustees Resolution

Recognizing the Cultural and Historical Significance of Lunar New Year 2025 – Year of the Snake

Whereas, Lunar New Year begins on the second new moon following the winter solstice, or the first day of the new year according to the lunisolar calendar, and extends until the full moon 15 days later; and

Whereas, the 15th day of the new year, according to the lunisolar calendar, is called the Lantern Festival; and

Whereas, Lunar New Year is often referred to as Spring Festival in various Asian countries; and

Whereas, many religious and ethnic communities use lunar-based calendars; and

Whereas, Lunar New Year began in China more than 4,000 years ago and is widely celebrated in East and Southeast Asia; and

Whereas, the Asian diaspora has expanded the Lunar New Year celebration into an annual worldwide event; and

Whereas, Lunar New Year is celebrated with community activities and cultural performances; and

Whereas, participants celebrating Lunar New Year travel to spend the holiday reuniting with family and friends; and

Whereas, Lunar New Year is traditionally a time to wish upon others good fortune, health, prosperity, and happiness; and

February 24, 2025 Page 2

Board of Trustees Resolution

Recognizing the Cultural and Historical Significance of Lunar New Year 2025 – Year of the Snake

Whereas, Lunar New Year is celebrated by thousands of Asian American students, staff and faculty at Irvine Valley College and Saddleback College and by many non-Asian Americans throughout the District; now, therefore,

Be it resolved, that the South Orange County Community College District (SOCCCD) recognizes the cultural and historical significance of Lunar New Year; and

Be it further resolved that in observance of this Lunar New Year, the Year of the Snake, the SOCCCD expresses its deepest respect for Asian Americans and all individuals throughout the world who celebrate this significant occasion; and wishes Asian Americans and all individuals who observe this holiday a happy and prosperous new year.

Carolyn Inmon, President

T.J. Prendergast III, Clerk

Timothy Jemal, Member

Terri Rydell, EdD, Member

Julianna M. Asperin Barnes, EdD, Chancellor

Ryan Dack, Vice President

Lisa A. Bartlett, Member

Marcia Milchiker, Member

Sharla Clemente, Student Member